Grandpa’s [mostly] #MelodicPunk music review … July 2nd, 2018

gramps

Grandpa’s [mostly] melodic punk [but with some alt, pop punk, straight-up punk, and post-h thrown in] weekly [ish] music review … #RollsOffTheTongue

RANDOM INSIGHTS INTO GRANDPA’S SHIT

HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY (which I will be celebrating in the land from which you mothers declared your independence)

undecided on the whole death cab for cutie thing … you’re going to have to tell me whether or not I should be into this

20180628_161312

I’ve been listening to london calling this week … sometimes that happens … and then I hear that joe’s estate will be releasing a career-spanning 2xCD compilation, on sep/28, covering his non-clash output … way cool

FUN AK3 OR SKIBA OR BLINK NEWS

20180628_161103

the blinky boys were apparently going to make a surprise appearance at warped (which btw, according to one mr biersack/black, is unmatched for cultural significance), but the travis barker blood clots 86-ed that idea

there’s also a hoppus and saddam hussein thing going around … I don’t care … but you can google it if you’re interested

20180628_161513

and, of course, a certain Dan Andriano celebrated [yet] another birthday

SHIT YOU SHOULD BE LISTENING TO (band, song, etc … my main playlist)

my main playlist

(note that i may change shit during the week … don’t fucking complain if it’s not identical)

playlist pic 20180702

the nectars; heaven; streamed/downloaded new song heaven … I was concerned for the first few seconds that this might go down the no doubt road (not that I’m a no doubt h8r, per se) … glad I kept listening … this is an awesome little rock song … punk-y power-pop-y nyc alt

this obsession; arm in arm; they’ve been a well-kept secret, but that’s not going to last … if they don’t cite #AlkalineTrio among their influences (apparent on a few songs on the album), I’d be very surprised … for the sake of complete clarity, that means there is some awesome stuff going on here … chicago melodic punk rules

josephkid; raise your voice; this song and the whole EP is great hungarian melodic punk

brand new friend; why are you so tired; sometimes-punk-ish indie pop … when they’re on, they’re on … listen!

the word alive; I don’t mind; totally great melodic metalcore

hal johnson; go through my blood; new german punk … out of left field, for me … very pleasant surprise

total bummer; melancholy; great skate-ish pop/melodic punk

irish handcuffs; miss the aim; not sure it’s intentional, but actually you can download all three songs already (complete comfort in distraction release supposedly not out until jun 29th) … and you should … awesome melodic punk

useless id; ghetto limits; totally fucking awesome cover of a great tarakany song

tarakany; Как Обезвредить Нам Себя Самих; totally fucking awesome cover of a great useless id song … oh, that would be how to dismantle an atom bomb, for those of you who don’t do the whole cyrillic thing … in which case you might also be having some difficulty with some of the world cup signage

trash boat; inside out; brit melody-centric post-h-y punk … unutterably cool

dan cribb and the isolated; run away; other than simpsons tribute/cover songs, this is their first new music since a 2015 split with DG … very cool melodic punk

you know the drill; overcast; sometimes kinda blink-y brit pop punk … yeah, I too saw the shitty reviews, but this is one of a couple cool songs on here

chin up, kid; wasted; cool pop punk

summerteeth; talk about anything; terrific canadian pop-punk

note to amy

note to amy; the house; I assume/hope this is from the promised upcoming larger release … not the hardcore-ish, metal-ish stuff I was expecting, but I’m down with this pop-punk-y alt incarnation

OTHER GOOD LISTENS FROM THE PAST FEW DAYS

downloadable/fully released

wicked city; bucket list; aussie punk (originally thought this was out jun/21)

like satellites; song muscle memory; I know there’s an EP coming, maybe early next year … it’s pop music … but it’s kinda alt-y and occasionally punk-ish

irish handcuffs; comfort in distraction; melodic punk

goodbye blue Monday; misery-punk ruined my life; gruff-ish scott-ish melodic punk

bullet for my valentine; gravity; not all bfmv fans agree, but me likey this updated take on welsh metal … and I’ll be within 20 miles of the welsh border in a few days, so there’s that

the interrupters; fight the good fight; two tone type terrific … not the kind of stuff that tends to get on my playlist, but this is just spectacular

over-time

over time; song stay inside; melodic punk … hoping this portends a full release soon, but who knows

late bloomer; waiting; winner … punk-y alt

the capital; this place matters; new brit melodic punk channeling eddie vedder … liking this a lot

homesafe; one; terrific illinois pop/melodic punk

dear youth

dear youth; you could wish me the best; canadian pop-punk-y alt … these guys rarely put a foot wrong … soooo good

mostly only streaming and/or a song or two downloadable

between the lines; to the wind; not long to wait … out jul/6/2018; streamed the title track … liking it … brit pop-punk-y alt

the human project; clarion call; also out jul/6/2018; listened to new song knocked for six … tech-y math-y vocal-chord-straining punk (from leeds)

winning streak; whichever path you take; apparently out jul/8/2018; I can’t remember if I told you about the title track … I don’t think so … kinda hairy texas melodic punk … you should listen … don’t your ears deserve a treat?

bury tomorrow; black flame; due jul/13/2018; melodic metalcore … streamed new song the age … kicked [instead of kissed] my natural black ass (which btw, though not black, IS natural)

teen agers; when we were; also jul/13/2018; listened to new song jar breaker … excellent pop punk

chaser

chaser; sound the sirens; this one’s jul/20/2018 streamed new song the show … skate punk … moshtastic … song let it die is also streaming, a little less skate-y and more punk-y … just terrific stuff

for heads down; resurgence; another jul/20/2018; german (?) melodic/skate punk … streamed new song in this case (and a couple of others) … this is really good

wilson; tasty nasty; out aug/24/2018; watched/streamed new song like a baller … kinda 90s-nu-metal-ish alt-y fun … doesn’t actually give me a shitload to go on, but I will def give the full release a listen

tenements; what doesn’t kill you is only getting stronger; this one’s out aug/31/2018; metal-ish scottish post-h … watched/streamed new song the fear … killing it

therapy?; cleave; due out sep/21/2018; watched/streamed/downloaded new song callow … spectacular stuff … melodic punk

falling in reverse; don’t know name, but I’m thinking this will be   2018, maybe?; still no official word re a full release, but another new song out and about … I know not all o’ y’all are down with the radke, or with the ronnie-rap sound … but this new song, called losing my life, is very cool … post-h-y grooves

note to amy; ditto name and date; listened to and downloaded new song the house (which I assume is from the promised upcomg larger release) … not the hardcore-ish, metal-ish stuff I was expecting, but I’m totally down with this pop-punk-y alt incarnation

UPCOMING STUFF I’M EXCITED ABOUT

teen agers

teen agers; when we were; jul/13/2018

for heads down

for heads down; resurgence; jul/20/2018

therapy

therapy?; cleave; sep/21/2018

UPCOMING LIVE SHOWS (I have tix for)

warped, mansfield MA, july

ALKALINE TRIO!!! boston, august

riot fest, chicago, september

blink, vegas, november

menzingers

menzingers, boston, november

STUFF REMOVED FROM MY PLAYLIST THIS WEEK

delete

this obsession; deep water

wonder years; sister cities

all better; thanks for nothing

RECURRING SHOUT OUT

Holden C McS … without him this pile of crap wouldn’t be called grandpa’s anything

<<GIVE ME A REASON WHY I SHOULD GIVE A FUCK>>

bfmv

==EOM==

Leave a comment