Grandpa’s [mostly] #MelodicPunk music review … May 15, 2024

Grandpa’s [mostly] melodic punk [with some alt, pop punk, straight-up punk, and post-h thrown in] weekly [ish] music review

RANDOM NEWS AND/OR INSIGHTS INTO GRANDPA’S SHIT

I have not listened to the new knocked loose thing … I know you don’t find my thoughts on them credible … I’m actually not outright suggesting you’re wrong, but I do expect to give it a listen, and I do expect to like it

I didn’t even get chance to listen to the ‘new’ handheld thing yet … expect this to be awesome too

I don’t follow CandC like I used to, but you’ll likely agree that this is very cool

and, while we’re blasting from the past (ing), DGD also did a thing … ok, two things

rise against hitting the road this fall … may have to check that out

teenage bottlerocket also gonna be touring (this summer), but nowhere that’s of any use to grandpa

the penske file tour is also headed to places grandpa can’t get to … I’m done with tour news now … sorry … I’ve told you before that this is not the place to come to get your ‘scene’ tour news

FUN ALKALINE TRIO OR SKIBA/ANDRIANO/WILLARD NEWS

the lovely young people in #AlkalineTrio have been busier than usual on the socials, probably because the euro chunk of this year’s tour is getting closer … it looks like matthew may have lost a little weight, but he looks good, n’est ce pas?

SHIT YOU SHOULD BE LISTENING TO (band, song, etc … my main playlist)

alkaline trio; versions of you; astonishingly good melodic punk, not quite like anything else they’ve ever done, I don’t think

fabled mind; vultures; amazing melodic punk stuff, even out of [album] context … wow

bayside; castaway; are you really going to make me say it? … it ought to go without saying that it’s melodic/pop punk at its most terrific

blowfuse; wish; it’s barely punk rock … it’s probably equally describable as funk rock … and yet, it’s also completely fucking awesome

alkaline trio; hot for preacher; chicago melodic punk … still at the top of the heap and still on top of their game

cold years; roll with it; spectacular melodic/pop punk … so happy they’re back so quickly

shoreline; don’t feed; this one’s an indie/melodic punker, and it’s fucking awesome

bayside; the devils; yes, it sounds kinda theatrical, kinda rock operatic, but it’s still terrific melodic punk

shoreline; green paint; hitting us with some indie/hardcore/emo/melodic punk this time … so good

cold years; choke; more excellent (natch) melodic/pop punk

sum 41; landmines; this is completely fucking awesome, it is unquestionably pop punk, and it kicks grandpa’s ass anyway

sum 41; dopamine; more fabulous pop punk

strung out; signal fires; heavy, kinda-hairy, somewhat-post-h-y melodic punk

bayside; good advice; melodic/pop punk … omfg, how good is this … fuck, yes

bayside; say so long; more spectacular melodic/pop punk

shit present; acting tough; indie/melodic punk out of exeter (devon, england) … so cool

chaser; the breaks; terrific melodic punk … so good

wasting time; wrote it in blew; it’s canadian, it’s melodic/pop punk, and it’s awesome

wasting time; up in arms; more spectacular canadian melodic/pop punk

for I am; game on; kinda hairy melodic/skate/pop punk from belgium … wow, motherfuckers

middle-out; silhouette; this is an excellent little melodic punker … so good

ALL THE GOOD LISTENS FROM THE PAST FEW DAYS

fully released and added to grandpa’s library

indoor pets; pathetic apathetic; brit indie punk … this is beta test me

eat defeat; my money’s on me; pop/skate punk from leeds … this one is called gnarcolepsy

hang on a minute … who else is from leeds (ish)? … anyone?

bring the light; building chaos; little-bit-hardcore melodic punk … out of nowhere for grandpa, and very, very cool … save yourself is one of the standouts

the ashtags; how we fall; italian melodic punk … here’s otherside

upcoming albums with pre-release tracks already streaming

modern shakes; a bolt from the blue (I think); due may/24/2024; melodic punk (from london, I think) … streamed canadasolite and watch it flicker … we just got a release name and date, and we barely have to wait

ultrabomb; dying to smile; due out jun/7/2024; streamed rage bomb … indie/melodic punk

bring on the storm; visionary; this one lands jun/14/2024; hairy-ish canadian melodic punk … I actually thought they might put something out last year (2023) but, anyway, I’m glad it’s happening now … streamed trainwreck

pluto the racer; tbd; hoping/guessing there’ll be a 2024 release; pop/melodic punk, from german-people-land, I think … streamed I might even

static dress; tbd; ditto guessing 2024; streamed crying … very cool post-h-y canadian melodic punk

UPCOMING STUFF I’M EXCITED ABOUT

pluto the racer; tbd; 2024 maybe

UPCOMING LIVE SHOWS (I have tix for and might actually get to)

heart attack man (supporting microwave, I think), jun 2024, boston

STUFF REMOVED FROM MY PLAYLIST THIS WEEK

nada

RECURRING SHOUT OUT

HoldenCC & LCTap … without them, this crap wouldn’t be called grandpa’s anything

<<IT WAS LOVELY TO SEE YOU, JJT, BUT I’M SO SORRY TO HEAR YOUR NEWS>>

==EOM==

Leave a comment