Grandpa’s Music … it’s May 19th, 2015

SOMETHING ABOUT GRANDPA

I do this to save you time … so you don’t have to bounce around the internet looking for great new music … you should just listen to whatever I am listening to … you can just take my word for it!

Been very busy, and under the weather, and enjoying four straight days of Alkaline Trio … and those things in combination are why I’m a little behind on my musical happenings research, and why this crap is late

The boys are back in town
The boys are back in town

Very sad news about B. B. King … I know it seems like a stretch … and I know you think your parents and grandparents sound stupid when they say things like this … but the music I like is a direct (if distant) descendant of the stuff he brought us … that’s the troof, troof

And as I mentioned, I got my four-day fix of Matt, Dan, and Derek … I couldn’t say enough good things … but coming down is a bummer … I will post separately about the Alkaline Trio shows

Asking Alexandria have apparently announced some live dates in May and June, before they’ve even announced who is replacing Danny … I won’t comment on the rumors but this could be very exciting stuff

FUN A3 OR SKIBA NEWS

And here's where all the Alkaline Trio happened
And here’s where all the Alkaline Trio happened

So far I uploaded only one Alkaline Trio video I took at Brighton Music Hall … straight from my phone, unedited … fucking disaster … but anyway here it is … https://youtu.be/oker0yB79d0

And the second Matt Skiba and the Sekrets song (off KUTS) showed up … good times .. oh, it’s called Krazy (like you didn’t know)

THE MAIN EVENT, THE PLAYLIST (band; song)

fftl; dead trees

light you up; all we’ve ever known

sleeping with sirens; go go go

prospects; ups n’ downs

Light fire down; piece of you

Light fire down; carolena

Airport novels; the way i feel

Too close to touch; pretty little thing

Success; believe in

Spineless yes men; ramleaze drive

ACODA; whispers like roars

Teenage bottlerocket; they call me steve

Teenage bottlerocket; dead saturday

Teenage bottlerocket; cockroach strikes again

Airsickness; choking on flames

Gone by friday; it all starts with me

Brawlers; high again

Bonfires; bury me

Short stories; don’t flatter yourself

Grayscale; say something

Jernigan; disorderly

Good riddance; contrition

Good riddance; washed away

River jumpers; peaks and troughs

Comeback kid; territorial pissings

FFTL; I solemnly swear that I am up to no good

FFTL; electrified

Millencolin; egocentric man

Millencolin; silent suicide

Matt Skiba and the Sekrets; She Wolf

We were sharks; run for cover

Matt Skiba and the Sekrets; Krazy; ADDED THIS WEEK

Miss Vincent; shogun queen; ADDED THIS WEEK (love these guys … indie pop punk magic)

Miss Vincent; how much further; ADDED THIS WEEK

Dan Cribb and the Isolated; the last time; ADDED THIS WEEK (I don’t know how they like their music to be categorized, so I hope I’m not pissing them off by saying it’s cool indie punk)

THIS WEEK'S PLAYLIST
THIS WEEK’S PLAYLIST

STUFF REMOVED FROM MY PLAYLIST THIS WEEK

Didn’t get rid of anything this week … didn’t really have time to think about it … but I know I’m gonna have to do a ‘cleanup’ soon … I wonder if there’s still stuff on here from December or January … entirely possible?

OTHER GOOD LISTENS FROM THE PAST FEW DAYS

PART1: stuff I streamed ahead of release date

Jr Juggernaut; witch’s hand; don’t know when it’s out, but song my window has class

Great Cynics; I feel weird; streamed most of it … time for some light bouncy pop punk music just in time for summer? It would seem so, wouldn’t it

Calls Landing; heirlooms; just discovered these guys … streamed most of the album … trending a little on the emo end of the scale for me, but will def download a bunch of this

Silverstein; I am alive in everything I touch; I know there are already people out there saying it isn’t consistent, but when it’s good it’s spectacular

The Story So Far; s/t; I know the reviews are in … I haven’t personally heard all of it, but I’ve listened to a few songs … and all I will say is that you can’t claim to like pop punk or melodic punk and not love this record … fuck, did I say “record” … how old AM i?

Chunk No Captain Chunk; get lost find yourself; haven’t listened to the whole thing yet, but clearly no sophomore slump here … great stuff

Trash Boat; brainwork; streamed I think the entire thing … what’s not to like … nothing, is the answer … wonderful stuff

Diamond Youth; nothing matters; I think I’ve streamed most of it and it’s really, really good … my personal sweetspot? Not sure yet … but this is quality stuff either way

Bodyface; no; did I already waste your time talking about song 4 dog? … perhaps … don’t care … still good

Sudden Suspension; there’s a bigger picture here; just listened to song as good as it gets … someone told me sudden suspension was back … who the fuck says they ever went anywhere? … great song … high hopes for the full release

Versus the World; homesick/roadsick; just discovered these guys … listened to song January Sun … can’t wait for the full release

Man Overboard; heavy love; I think this was just announced … three great songs already out there for our enjoyment … songs splinter and now that you’re home already favorites

The Endeavour; voyage; okay, I confess I haven’t heard any of it, but I will give it a listen based purely on the bands they are being compared to … oh, go google it yourself …

Neck Deep; life’s not out to get you; listened to song can’t kick up the roots … hey, he can’t help his welsh roots! … this is great wherever

Stay Gone; charades; just discovered, and listened to song suitcase cellar … euro pop punk alive and well and getting better!

We Came From Wolves; s/t; just listened to songs glasgow stranger and am I useful … some of you will dismiss it as pop music … some of you will say you can’t deal with the scottish accent … you fuckers are missing out big time

Acceptance; [single] take you away; I wonder if it’s possible to get a [legal] download anywhere … long overdue … great little rock song (of course)

Forever Never; [single] never giving up; rock music still sounds great when it’s done right … like it is here … glad they’re back (if they ever went anywhere)

PART2: stuff that was already released (that you should go get … legally)

Miss Vincent; reasons not to sleep; I only added a couple songs to my playlist, but I’m still listening to the whole thing over and over (and over)

Dan Cribb & The Isolated; as we drift apart; basically ditto … the whole thing is great

We are the Ocean; ark; had trouble finding a legal download, but well worth the hunting around … great alt rock/metal(?)

Of Allies; fragments; very cool stuff (listen to ONE19 if nothing else)

The Early November; imbue; as good as everyone says

We are the Union; keep it down; indie punk ska goodness

Landmarks; fighting gravity; this week’s “where the fuck did this come from” winner … pop punk plus … must listen

The Stragglers; basements; Canada do punk good

PART3: Have you heard that third eye blind cover of some beyonce song (I admit I had to be told it was a beyonce song) … if you’re still a 3eb fan after all these years, go find it … you’ll like it

UPCOMING STUFF I’M EXCITED ABOUT

Looking a couple months out … all July, I think … being as an ocean (s/t) … gospel youth (empires) … dan andriano (party adjacent) … senses fail (pull the thorns from your heart)

UPCOMING LIVE SHOWS

Amy Schumer  — May (that’s not music, grandpa)

Warped, MA  — July

Rise Against, MA  — July

RECURRING SHOUT OUT

Holden C McS … without him this blog would just be called ‘music’

<<TUCK ME IN WITH THE TARANTULAS>>

==END==

Leave a comment